Skip to product information
1 of 1

Domaine Cauhapé 'L'Éclipse' Vin de France 2022

Domaine Cauhapé 'L'Éclipse' Vin de France 2022

This 2022 'L'Éclipse' Vin de France is a distinct blend of Gros Manseng and Camaralet grapes.

ABV 14% 

May contains sulfites.

Drink this at 10°C and between now and 2025.

Case size
Regular price £89.94
Regular price Sale price £89.94
Intro offer Sold out
View full details

'L'Éclipse' is a distinct blend of Gros Manseng and Camaralet, offering a modern interpretation of Jurançon's winemaking heritage. The exceptional 2022 vintage, characterised by a sunny post-wet spring and moderate summer, provided the perfect conditions for ripening, resulting in grapes with great intensity of flavour and aromatic complexity. The winemaking process involved careful de-stemming, skin maceration, pneumatic pressing, and temperature-controlled fermentation, with a portion undergoing malolactic fermentation to enhance complexity.

Under the stewardship of Henri Ramonteu, Domaine Cauhapé crafts wines that are true expressions of Jurançon's terroir. 'L'Éclipse' is a testament to Ramonteu's commitment to showcasing the varietal typicity and complexity of local grapes, influenced by his innovative winemaking approach and the region's unique climatic conditions.

This wine is wonderful with many dishes, from seafood and poultry to exotic salads and soft cheeses.

Vin de France wines are simple everyday blends but also encompass some gems such as this one. These particular blends often have tropical fruit, citrus aromas and bit of oak.

Domaine Cauhapé, established in 1970 in the village of Monein, has evolved into one of the Jurançon’s top producers. By the Pyrenees foothills, vineyards are on the upper slopes of the valleys and hilltops. Soils which are mainly flysch, with layers of sandstone, limestone and clay have excellent water retention resulting in wines of complexity and freshness from mainly Gros Manseng and Petit Manseng grapes.

© Copyright 2024 Poppin and Vine Limited. All rights reserved. Maps © Copyright Openstreetmap contributors